Testing the Limits

Prodded by a challenge on the Clickin Moms forum, I grabbed my camera late last night while the kiddos were in bed, and decided to push the limits of the ISO capabilities.  This was shot on HI 1.0 (ISO 6400) on my D300s.  It was very, very dark in my son’s room, so I was pleasantly surprised to be able to capture something usable at all.  Camera was handheld, though a tripod would have been nice- I just wasn’t dragging it out that time of night!  The only processing done to the original file was a white balance adjustment and noise correction, both using ACR.

Noise comparison before and after ACR adjustments:

Color image after adjustments:

Another edit on the color image (using My Four Hen’s ‘Hot Java’ action, then tweaked):

And just a shot to show the ambient light that was used:

About TaraStallingsPhotography

I am a stay-at-home mother to two wonderful children. I've been an Army wife for the past 11 years, as well. Photography and quilting are hobbies that provide me much-needed 'me' time- I love doing it!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Testing the Limits

  1. Michele says:

    Thanks for the details. I’m learning all the time thanks to you and other Clickinmoms.

  2. Monique says:

    Thanks for posting about ACR noise reduction. I don’t have a third party noiseware kind of program and had the most noisy photos a few days ago and totally forgot until reading this that ACR had that new noise reduction feature – duh!

Leave a Reply

